2008 LVYCC Annual Awards Ceremony

By | 14/12/2008

Following our usual club session on Saturday 13th December, we held our Christmas Party and Annual Awards Ceremony in the Hog Hill clubhouse. Despite the unremitting rain and cold wind, we had a good turnout of club members, most of whom spent some time on the off-road trails and on the road section.

At the awards event the various Trophy winners, and the recipients of the latest Jack Petchey awards, were presented with their prizes, certificates and badges by Bob Griffiths and Gary Smith (see listings and pictures below). A common theme to the introductions to each of the awards was the difficulty the coaches often had in picking just one from so many potential winners. This is a tribute to the growing enthusiasm, skill and determination of so many of our youth riders.

That the club functions at all reflects the work of the many volunteers that give up their time to help the club. This includes the clubs own volunteer coaches and the Glendene CC coaches, the signing-on team, the bike hire team and the many other volunteer coaching assistants who help with the riding sessions. All were duly acknowledged with a round of applause.

The driving role of Bob and Julie Griffiths in keeping us all on our toes was highlighted and they were presented with tokens of our appreciation of their work. The efforts made by Michael Humphreys in making Hog Hill happen was appreciated (although in the excitement we did forget to mention David Rossis work as well: keep watching this website for a Hog Hill History to explain all – Ed).

The Awards finished with an announcement that food was ready (“Star of India” curry and cakes slickly organised by Andy White) and the quiz, by Quizmaster Drew Jones, was to be finished without any cheating….(it was won by the “Pigs”, James, Matthew and Sam).

(Eds: Tony Madgwick and Andy White)

Trophy winners
All Rounder: Hugo Humphreys
Senior: Isaac Munday
Schoolboy: James & Matthew Madgwick
Under 10: Callum Mackie
Attendance: Thomas Newton
Best Improver: Jaime Wilkins
Best Newcomer: Francesca Morgan-Slader

Jack Petchey Awards
Chris Donellan
Jason Weekes
Stephanie Madeiros
Francesca Morgan-Slader

Here are some pictures from the Awards Ceremony: