CX 2011/12

By | 10/11/2013

2011/12 Season

The final event of the Eastern Cyclocross league 2011-12 season took place on Saturday 4th Feb. A freezing day saw 23 riders from the club compete in every race.

In the Senior/Junior/ Elite Veteran race Bruce Mackie came 4th in his class the Elite Vets, Adam Tapley in his first event for the club came 3rd in the Juniors with Sam Jones 4th and Noah Smith a DNF. In the Women’s race Kate Ambrose came 8th in her class. The Veterans race saw Tony Madgwick finish 8th in his class, with Bob Griffiths and Colin Parish 11th and 12th respectively. Steve Jensen was 28th in his class. The club came 7th in the Veterans/womens rankings.

The real racing was seen in the Youth and U12 races.

In the U12′s Felix Mackie recored his best result of the year to finish 3rd in the race but 2nd in the U12′s. Lexie White was first U12 girl. Murdo White was 10th U10 with his young sister Eilidh a superb 1st in the U8 race! The U12 team coming 4th in the category rankings.

LVYCC were defending Youth Team Champions from 2010-11, 10 club riders took to the field to defend the title. All the riders put in super effort. In his first ride for the club James Tapley rode superbly to take 2nd in the race, followed by Georg Jensen 1st U14 and James Madgwick 4th and 5th respectively. Callum Mackie rode, arguably, his best race of the season to come 6th overall and 2nd U14. Matt Clements chased really hard all race to finish 8th. James Ambrose-Parish kept the pressure on and out-sprinted his rival to finish 11th, 6th place U14. William Warre and Harry Chavner rode strongly and have improved all season, William 19th overall, 11th U14 and Harry 21st overall, Mathew Madgwick finished 22nd after a mechanical nightmare. Francesca Morgans-Slader finished 1st youth girl on the day, to finish off a fine season.

LVYCC retained the Youth Team title by 4 points over CC Ashwell who put up a really strong display. The club came 4th Overall in the team result. The season has been a great success, all the riders performing well. We had 2 title winners Francesca Morgans-Slader winning the Youth girls title and Georg Jensen winning the U14 title. Lexie White was 2nd U12 girl overall.


Category: Uncategorised