Final Welwyn Track League meeting 2011

By | 13/09/2011

Please see below the report on the British Cycling website describing how James Ambrose-Parish won the Welwyn Track league last Friday:

As the Youth groups went into the final meeting, James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley YCC) was five points behind series leader Jordan Mooney in the BC group.

Ambrose-Parish won the 4-lap scratch to reduce the lead to just two points, and next time out in the Block Handicap, although Mooney kept a watch on his rival, Ambrose-Parish won again with Mooney second and the gap dropped to just one point.

As they got up for the last race – a 4-lap combined ABC handicap – Ambrose-Parish was still one point down and looked to be out of it as the leading group were well ahead as they went into the last 200 metres. But a do or die effort took Ambrose-Parish to third place with Mooney nowhere to give Ambrose-Parish a well earned series win in the BC group.

Sounds exciting.

Well done James, on becoming Welwyn Track League BC winner 2011, and also, well done to the other riders from the club who made the effort to race a Welwyn this year.